Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Projectile Arc Path

edited May 2020 in Programming

I want to add a mortar to my tower defense game. I need the projectiles of the mortar to go in an arc, but if I do that the enemies just dodge it. Any help?

Answers

• edited May 2020

I use C# btw.

• Hi Fire_Knight9999,

I am new to game dev but I would add a trial renderer component to the mortar "bullet" prefab. I used this tutorial to apply trial effect to my bullets in the game am currently working. Hope it helps.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_TcEfIXpmRI

• Hi miguel8822,

The game is 3D sooooo the tutorial does not work for me.

• ABOABO Member

Maybe this helps you:

• Well this is not shooting something, but just showing the trajectory

• ABOABO Member

Well, then you should try this Unity project:

• I will check it later thx.

• That is a player shooting the bullets, I want it to be an automatic turret.

• Adding trial renderer component will work in 3D as well. If you only want the trajectory to be shown, make the "bullet prefab" an empty object. Then make this empty object a prefab and add the trial renderer component. Here I found a guide showing how to add the trial renderer component to bullets in a 3d project.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UDb6KtT7I_E&t=43s

• That shows how to make a trail behind the bullet and NOT how I should make it move in an arc.

• What do you mean by arc then

• I meant that the video does not show any way of making a projectile move along its path.

• MrSlugMrSlug Member

I think what @Fire_Knight9999 is meaning is he wants to be able to fire a projectile along a parabola (An Arc), like firing a mortar or throwing a grenade.

For this kind of projectile I'd point you to this Unity Answer:

The user has listed a number of answers to this kind of question which should help you on your way.

Hope this helps!

• Are you sure it works on a moving target?