Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Why this ParticleSystem is being destroyed when I uncheck "Play On Awake"?

miguel8822miguel8822 Member
edited May 2020 in Programming

Hello Community!

I am new to video game development, Im currently working on my first project which I started a couple months ago.

Im trying play a smoke Particle System on a chopper prefab once that chopper's hp falls below 50% of its maximum hp. I've been looking on google for several hours without find any solution. I know there are other ways to achieve this but I would really want to know what is destroying the Particle System. Strangely, the Particle System dont gets destroyed if I check the Play On Awake tick on the smoke particle system. Otherwise, it gets destroyed after 0.6 secs. Here is the code which I guess are the important lines, (language used is C#),

//________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

private void OnCollisionEnter2D(Collision2D collision)

{

if (collision.gameObject.CompareTag(bulletType[0]) || collision.gameObject.CompareTag(bulletType[1]))

{     

ActivateSmokeBasedOnCurrentHP();   

Invoke("WaitFewSecondsToPlayAlertVoice", 0.5f);

AudioManager.instance.RandomizeSfx4(bulletImpactMetalClips);

TakeDamage(Random.Range(30, 41));          

}

}

private void ActivateSmokeBasedOnCurrentHP()

{

if (GameManager.instance.globalHelicopterCurrentHealth < 0.50f * GameManager.instance.globalHelicopterMaxHealth)

{

greySmokeParticleSystem.Play(); //At this line error in console pops up.

}

else if(GameManager.instance.globalHelicopterCurrentHealth <= 0.25f * GameManager.instance.globalHelicopterMaxHealth)

{

greySmokeParticleSystem.Stop();

blackSmokeParticleSystem.Play();

}

//___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Error message in console: