Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to play a self-made game in maximised game view?

AdityaAditya Member
edited May 19 in Programming

I am a beginner in game making and I am using 2019.3 Unity Version. I am following Brackeys playlist named "How to make a Video Game". I have seen 6 videos till now and I am facing one problem. I am able control my Cube (Player) in minimised game view. But when I maximise the game view, I am not able to control my Cube. It just goes straight and collides with one of the obstacles before stopping. Is there a problem with my coding, or is there a problem with my laptop? BTW, I am using Toshiba Satellite L755. I have attached the image of my codes. Please help...

I have also attached the link of the gameplay videos.

Comments

• babissofbabissof Member
    edited May 20

This is a glitch that unity is facing. When you're on maximized game mode and it shows you are playing you should click once inside the window at the beginning. It's like having two programs open in the screen and you click to select which one is the active one in order to scroll etc. This is a weird glitch and I hope it's patched in the future. Glad I could help :)

• WarpWarp Member

@babissof It is not a bug, its a result of how Windows handles window focus, and Unity full screening it.

Regardless, @babissof is right, clicking on the window will solve the problem. If you want to test it without this problem go to:

File -> Build and run -> choose a folder

Build the game, and run the executable. That will allow you to play it without this issue, like a player would.

• AdityaAditya Member

Thanks @babissof. But it's not working. @Warp , I will give your suggestion a try.

Thanks for answering!

• AdityaAditya Member

Thanks, but neither of the suggestions worked... After clicking Build and Run, nothing happened on my laptop.